Taïwan – Covid-19 – Immigration update

To check the real time evolutions concerning international mobility all over of the world, discover the GoWork – COVID-19 Digital Card.

Update : April 24th, 2020

Second automatic 30-day extension for foreigners entering Taiwan on or before 21 March 2020 with visa waiver, visitor visa, or landing visa

What is the change?

In view of travel restrictions, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA) had previously announced an automatic 30-day extension of the stay period for foreigners on 21 March 2020.

On 17 April 2020, MOFA announced that all travellers who entered Taiwan on or before 21 March 2020, on a visitor visa, landing visa, or through a visa-waiver program and who have not overstayed their legal stay period will now be granted a second automatic 30-day extension.

No application is required. The total period of stay cannot exceed 180 days (the day after the entry date will be counted as the first day of stay). These conditions are subject to change and may be adjusted as circumstances require.

In addition, the National Immigration Agency (NIA) has announced the Expanded Overstayers Voluntary Departure Program. Foreign nationals who have overstayed their visas and turn themselves in from 20 March 2020 to 30 June 2020 are entitled to penalty relief measures. They will not be detained or receive an entry ban, and will be given only a minimum fine. For further information, please visit the NIA website here.

Update : March 17th, 2020

Central Epidemic Command Centre (CECC) raises travel notice for 42 countries and one territory in Eastern Europe, Middle East, Central Asia, and Northern Africa to Level 3: Warning

What is the change?

Effective 17 March 2020, the Central Epidemic Command Centre (CECC) will raise its travel notice for 13 countries in Eastern Europe, 15 countries and one territory in the Middle East, five countries in Northern Africa, and nine countries in Central Asia to Level 3: Warning. This comes in addition to the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Iran, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Slovakia, and Slovenia, which were already subject to a Level 3: Warning travel notice.

The countries and territory covered by this announcement are as follows: Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Egypt, Georgia, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Libya, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, North Macedonia, Oman, Pakistan, Palestine, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Syria, Tajikistan, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, and Yemen.

Travelers from these countries will be required to follow a 14-day period of home quarantine after entering Taiwan.

14-day home quarantine for travelers coming from 27 European countries or Dubai

What is the change?

The CECC announced that, considering the frequent movement of citizens in the Schengen Area, it will raise the travel notice on 17 March 2020 to Level 3: Warning, for all Schengen countries including France, Germany, Spain, Portugal, Austria, the Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg, Denmark, Finland, Sweden, Slovakia, Slovenia, Poland, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Greece, Malta, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Iceland, Norway, Switzerland and Liechtenstein, in addition to Italy, which is already on Level 3. The United Kingdom and Ireland, enjoying free movement in the Area, are also now on Level 3. Dubai (transits included) is also on the list.

People are advised to avoid nonessential travel to these countries. Starting from 2 p.m., 14 March 2020, those already on board are asked to practice more stringent self-health management, whereas travellers yet on board will have to follow a 14-day home quarantine. Staring from 17 March 2020, foreign travellers required to follow home quarantine can pay to stay at the group quarantine facilities if they do not have other places to reside in.

According to the assessment of the US Centres for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), COVID-19 is spread through communities in the states of Washington, New York and California. In light of the situation, the CECC raised its travel notice for the above three states to Level 2: Alert. Travelers visiting these regions are advised to practice enhanced precautions. The travel notice for remaining US states is Level 1: Watch, and visitors are advised to take usual precautionary measures.

As infections continue to spread globally, and considering the close transportations and exchange between nations, the CECC raised its travel notice to Level 1: Watch, for all countries yet listed in the advisory. Travelers who have visited countries listed in the Level 1 and 2 categories in the past 14 days are required to practice a 14-day self-health management.

Diane Artis

Diane Artis, Avocat Associée, possède plus de 20 années d’expérience dans le domaine de la fiscalité personnelle. Elle assiste quotidiennement les grands groupes internationaux dans le cadre de leur politique […]

Carlei Sophie Portrait BD 2018
Sophie Carlei

Sophie est Directeur au sein de l’équipe Mobilité Internationale de Lyon et dirige l’équipe immigration. Elle conseille les groupes français et internationaux et intervient tant pour des clients travaillant dans le domaine […]

Photo de Fatia Bouteiller
Fatia Bouteiller

Fatia Bouteiller a rejoint Taj en 2017 pour renforcer l’équipe Immigration. Fatia dispose d’une expérience de 15 ans en mobilité internationale dans les domaines du droit de l’immigration, de l’expatriation […]